2024 EMCT Award

On behalf of the Central Region, Arizona Emergency Medical Services, Inc (AEMS) is pleased to support the Arizona Bureau of EMS & Trauma System's 2024 EMCT of the Year Award contest. Each Region was charged with selecting a finalist to receive this award, which recognizes outstanding EMCTs across Arizona who have gone above and beyond to serve their communities.

In the Central Region, three nominations were received. The finalist was selected based on merit by the AEMS Board of Governors and Functional Group Voting members.

We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.


2024 EMCT of the Year Award Winner

Daniel Malanowski

Daniel Malanowski

Buckeye Fire Medical Rescue Department

Congratulations to Daniel Malanowski, EMCT-P, from the Buckeye Fire Medical Rescue Department, for his well-deserved recognition as the 2024 EMCT of the Year for the Central Arizona Region.Daniel's unwavering dedication and courage in protecting our community's health and safety do not go unnoticed. His commitment to selflessly serving others, coupled with his compassion and unwavering sense of duty, sets an inspiring example for all.

The following is a partial summary of what Daniel's nominator said about his EMS contributions and accomplishments:

"Daniel Malanowski is a seasoned and dedicated emergency medical care technician (EMCT) with an impressive 19-year career in the field. For the past 18 years, he has been a vital member at the Buckeye Fire Medical Rescue Department, showcasing his commitment to serving the community in times of crisis. Additionally, Dan has utilized his expertise as an EMCT educator at Glendale Community College for 14 years, imparting his knowledge and experience to the next generation of healthcare professionals. His diverse background includes six years as a flight paramedic for Airevac and three years as an ER technician, highlighting his versatility and proficiency in various medical settings. Dan's unwavering dedication to continuously expanding his skills and knowledge in all aspects of patient care, from education to pre-hospital care, flight care, and hospital care, exemplifies his passion for providing top-notch medical assistance to those in need. "


AEMS would also like to thank ALL the nominees for dedicating their lives to helping others. We are grateful for their service, compassion, and contributions made to EMS for the Central Arizona Region. They are cherished caregivers and an inspiration to us all.

David Kirk

David Kirk
Phoenix Fire Department

Alan Romania

Alan Romania
Guadalupe Fire Department

2024 Trauma Award

This year AZDHS created an awards program for those in the Trauma field. The winners of the awards were by a selected panel of Arizona Trauma System stakeholders . Each Region were designated an award winner in each category.

2024 Trauma Award Winners

No Image

Wendy Otten
Trauma Program Manager of the Year, Level I Trauma Center

Sheri Fugate

Sheri Fugate
Banner Del E. Webb Medical Center
Trauma Program Manager of the Year, Level III Trauma Center

No Image

Jordan Weinberg, MD
St. Joseph's Hospital & Medical Center
Trauma Program Medical Director of the Year

No Image

Kristina Kupanoff
St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center
Research/Academic Achievement Award

2024 Trauma Award Nominees

Tyler Stuart - Mountain Vista Medical Center

Dana Stout - St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center

Merideth Gradowski – Dignity Health